Community of Christ

COVID-19  Ongoing Response

International Peace Award

International Peace Award

Community of Christ International Peace Award

The Community of Christ International Peace Award has been given since 1993. The award includes a financial gift to be donated to the charitable peace, justice, or environmental organization(s) of the recipient's choice. Honorees also receive a sculpture created by Wyoming artist Gail Sundell. Each is made slightly different to honor the unique peacemaking contribution of the recipient.


2019 Gary White and Sister Kantner

To highlight the 25th anniversary of the Temple in Independence, Missouri, USA, two local organizations and their leaders were chosen to receive the 2019 International Peace Award. Gary White is CEO and co-founder of of Kansas City, Missouri, and Sister Andrea Kantner is founder of the Franciscan Mission Warehouse in Independence. As of the award presentation, had helped 13 million people in need gain access to safe water and sanitation. The Franciscan Mission Warehouse distributes unwanted medical supplies and equipment to areas of the world where the materials are most needed. In 2017, for example, the warehouse shipped 160 tons to those in need.

2016 Leymah Gbowee

Leymah Gbowee, is the founder and president of the Gbowee Peace Foundation Africa. Among her many accomplishments, she is the 2011 Nobel Peace laureate for her leadership of the Women of Liberia Mass Action for Peace. This nonviolent movement joined Christian and Muslim women, empowering them to speak against the war and join in prayer and public protest. Their actions played a pivotal role in ending the civil war in Liberia in 2003.

2014 Bread for the World

Bread for the World has been in the forefront of helping fill bellies in the USA and throughout the world.

2013 John L. Bell

John L. Bell is a hymn writer and author.

2012 Dr. Tadatoshi Akiba

Dr. Tadatoshi Akiba is an advocate for global nuclear disarmament and founder of Mayors for Peace.

2011 Terry Tempest Williams

Terry Tempest Williams is a visionary author, naturalist, and activitist.

2010 Greg Mortenson

Greg Mortenson is co-founder and executive director of the Central Asia Institute, school-builder, and author of the books Three Cups of Tea and Stones into Schools.

2009 Dr. Halima Bashir

Dr. Halima Bashir is an advocate for the health and safety of the women and children of Darfur.

2008 Koinonia Community

The Koinonia Community is an exemplary peacemaking signal community. The award was accepted by Koinonia executive director Bren Dubay and chaplain Norris Harris.

2007 Dolores Huerta and Father Virgilio Elizondo

Dolores Huerta and Father Virgilio Elizondo are non-violent advocates for farm workers' rights. 

2006 Howard Zehr

Howard Zehr is a pioneer in restorative justice and co-director for the Center for Justice and Peacebuilding at Eastern Mennonite University in Virginia, USA.

2005 Craig Kielburger

Craig Kielburger is the Founder of Free the Children headquartered in Toronto, Canada. Craig is the youngest ever recipient at age 22.

2004 Rev. James Lawson

Rev. James Lawson is a civil rights and on-going activist. Rev. Lawson organized the campaign to desegregate Nashville, Tennessee, through lunch counter sit-ins.

2003 Dr. Jean Vanier

Dr. Jean Vanier is the founder of L'Arche, an international movement that creates communities for adults with developmental disabilities.

2002 Ela Gandhi

Ela Gandhi is a vigorous, non-violent opponent of apartheid in South Africa where she was under house arrest for nine years.

2001 Dr. Swanee Hunt

Dr. Swanee Hunt works with women and children in Bosnia. She is the founder of Women Waging Peace and the former US Ambassador to Austria.

2000 Dr. John Paul Lederach

Dr. John Paul Lederach is an international mediator and founding director of the Conflict Transformation Program at Eastern Mennonite University in the US.

1999 Dr. Jane Goodall

Dr. Jane Goodall is a primate researcher and environmentalist and does international environmental education work with children.

1998 Dr. Marie Fortune

Dr. Marie Fortune is a minister, and founder and former director of the Seattle, Washington, Center for the Prevention of Sexual Domestic Violence. The center is now called the FaithTrust Institute

1997 Senator Juan M. Flavier

Senator Juan M. Flavier is a senator, medical doctor, and development worker among the poor. He is the former secretary of Department of Health in the Philippines.

1995 Marian Wright Edelman

Marian Wright Edelman is a national advocate for disadvantaged Americans, especially children, and founder and president of the Children's Defense Fund.

1994 Dr. M. Scott Peck and Lily Ho Peck

Dr. M. Scott Peck and Lily Ho Peck are co-founders of the Foundation for Community Encouragement. M. Scott Peck is the author of The Road Less Traveled and other titles.

1993 Dr. Jehan Sadat

Dr. Jehan Sadat is a social reformer and advocate of emancipation projects for women in Egypt.