Community of Christ

Earth Stewardship Team

Earth Stewardship Team

The Earth Stewardship Team was established as a standing committee by World Conference action in 1992 (enabling legislation WCR 1224)  to focus on issues of environment and development and to give guidance to the church.

Mission Alignment

The church is called in Doctrine and Covenants 165:1d and 163:4c to "Pursue Peace on and for the Earth" and to “…bring fresh vision to bear on the perplexing problems of…environmental deterioration.” The team’s primary concern is the identification and promotion of human accountability and responsible behavior toward the earth and its resources in individual, church, and community life.  

Team Priorities for 2016-2019

  • Provide commentary to the church (Herald articles, website, social media, etc.) on the meaning of the phrase “Pursue Peace on and for the Earth” from D&C 165:1d.
  • Provide a “prophetic voice” and “advocacy” strategies in response to a new USA presidential administration that is not “environmentally friendly.”
  • Explore the relationships between global poverty, deforestation, and soil erosion, including finding examples of efforts to reverse global trends. (Fighting poverty through human development by planting trees to replace forest resources that have been stripped for cooking fires, shelter, etc.)
  • Continue to advocate for “going green” throughout the church in terms of facilities and events.
  • Connecting and partnering with groups, movements, networks, etc. to address eco-justice and environmental healing concerns. 
  • Connecting and encouraging the many individuals of Community of Christ and its affiliates such as PeacePathways, as well as advocates throughout the world committed to a peaceful, safe, and secure nuclear weapons-free world.
  • Provide a report to the 2019 World Conference highlighting Earth stewardship challenges, opportunities, and church initiatives.  Report to include recommendations to further the initiatives.  

Team Members

Rick Bunch, team leader
Debra Bruch
John Chatburn
Jayson Gray
Me Kim
Sherri Kirkpatrick
Brad Martell
Lori Martell
Michele McGrath
Lu Mountenay
Max Pitt
Pat Robinson
Rick Sarre
Aaron Twombly
John VanDerWalker

Kate Ytell